Virginia Civil War 150
Home     The Commission      Then & Now     Programs     Resources     Marketplace     News      Events
Commission Structure

Workgroup 3: Education

Includes oversight and monitoring of:

  • Involvement of schools, students, teachers, administration, and PTAs
  • SOL review and resources, curriculum framework, resources for teachers, etc.
  • Teacher institutes
  • Higher education involvement
  • Law school symposia
  • Public library involvement
  • Document preservation project

Delegate Algie T. Howell (Chair)
Senator Mamie E. Locke
Senator John S. Edwards
Delegate Thomas C. Wright, Jr.
Chief Kenneth Adams, Upper Mattaponi Tribe
Dr. Belinda C. Anderson, Virginia Union University
Frank Barham, Virginia School Boards Association
Dr. Betsy Barton, Department of Education
Dr. Glenn DuBois, Virginia Community College System
Robert Lambeth, Council of Independent Colleges in Virginia
Dr. Daniel Lavista, SCHEV
Dr. George McVey, Virginia Private Education Association
The Honorable Floyd H. Miles, Sr., former member, Virginia House of Delegates
Dr. Thomas Morris, Secretary of Education or designee
Princess Moss,
President, Virginia Education Association
Dr. Cora S. Salzberg, Radford University Board of Visitors
Dr. Thomas Saville, Virginia Association of School Superintendents
Dr. Beverly Thurston, Department of Education
Dr. Sandy Treadway, Librarian of Virginia

Committee Meeting Minutes


Virginia Sesquicentennial Commemoration of the American Civil War
© 2017 Commonwealth of VA    Contact / Email Newsletter
Media Center   Terms of Use
Privacy/Security Statement  Contact Webmaster
Commission logo trademarked, not to be used without authorization

Make a tax-deductible contribution

2010 Signature Conference
Civil War Traveler
Civil War Traveler iTunes

Sign up to
receive our
FREE email