Virginia Civil War 150
Home     The Commission      Then & Now     Programs     Resources     Marketplace     News      Events
Commission Structure

Workgroup 2: Signature Events and Activities

Includes oversight and monitoring of:

  • Establishment of unifying themes, stories, and goals for the commemoration (to tie together signature events, grant recipient programs, etc.)
  • Commission-sponsored events, lectures, symposia, films, battlefield tours, etc.
  • VHS Traveling exhibition
  • Mobile (tractor-trailer) exhibition
  • Public relations

Speaker William J. Howell (Chair)
Senator R. Creigh Deeds
Delegate Johnny S. Joannou
Dr. Paul A. Levengood
Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr.
The Hon. Viola O. Baskerville, Secretary of Administration
Dr. Theodore DeLaney, Associate Professor of History, Washington and Lee University
Graham Dozier, Managing Editor of Publications, Virginia Historical Society
Conley Edwards, State Archivist, Library of Virginia
Dr. Gary Gallagher, John L. Nau III Professor in the History of the American Civil War, University of Virginia
Prof. Ervin L. Jordan, Jr., Associate Professor and Research Archivist, University of Virginia
Richard Lewis, Public Relations Manager, Virginia Tourism Corporation
Dr. John W. Mountcastle, Ret. Brig. Gen., Army Chief of Military History (ret.), University of Richmond
Dr. Elisabeth Muhlenfeld, President, Sweet Briar College
Dr. Brian Wills, Professor of History, University of Virginia at Wise
Bruce Wingo, Resident Vice President, Norfolk Southern Corporation

Committee Meeting Minutes


Virginia Sesquicentennial Commemoration of the American Civil War
© 2017 Commonwealth of VA    Contact / Email Newsletter
Media Center   Terms of Use
Privacy/Security Statement  Contact Webmaster
Commission logo trademarked, not to be used without authorization

Make a tax-deductible contribution

2010 Signature Conference
Civil War Traveler
Civil War Traveler iTunes

Sign up to
receive our
FREE email