Virginia Civil War 150
 
Civil War 150 HistoryMobile
 


 

Civil War 150 HistoryMobile

Tour Schedule

HM Application

In The News

Teacher Resources

American Association of State and Local History

HistoryMobile 2014 Schedule
*All event dates and times are subject to change without prior notice*

April 2014
4-5

Pulaski County

Event: 150th Anniversary of the Battle of Cloyd's Mountain

Location:

Cloyd’s Mountain Battlefield
Route 100
Dublin, VA 24084

   
Hours:

Friday, April 4: Schools only
Saturday, April 5:  10:00 AM - 4:00 PM


7-9

Rockingham County

Event: School visits

12

City of Richmond

Event: Civil War and Emancipation Day

Location:

Lumpkin's Jail
14th and Franklin Streets
Richmond, VA 23219

   
Hours:

Saturday, April 12:  9:30 AM - 4:30 PM


17-19

Brunswick County

Event: Brunswick SpringFest

Location:

Main Street
Brunswick, VA 23868

   
Hours:

Thursday, April 17: Schools only
Friday, April 18: Schools only
Saturday, April 19:  10:00 AM - 4:00 PM


25-26

Louisa County

Event: 150th Anniversary of the Battle of Trevilian Station

Location:

Sargeant Museum of Louisa County History
214 Fredericksburg Avenue
Louisa, VA  23093

   
Hours:

Friday, April 25:  TBD
Saturday, April 26:  TBD


April 30
- May 1

City of Fredericksburg

Event: School visits

 

May 2014
2-4

Spotsylvania County

Event: 150th Anniversary of the Battle of the Wilderness and Spotsylvania Court House

Location:

Spotsylvania Courthouse Village
9019 Old Battlefield Blvd.
Spotsylvania, VA 22551

   
Hours:

Friday, May 2:  Schools only
Saturday, May 3:  10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday, May 4:  10:00 AM - 4:00 PM


9-11

Martinsburg, West Virginia (Berkeley County)

Event: Martinsburg Heritage Day

Location:

115 N. Queen Street
Martinsburg, WV 25401

   
Hours:

Friday, May 9:  Schools only
Saturday, May 10:  10:00 AM - 5:00 PM


17-18

Shenandoah County

Event: 150th Anniversary of the Battle of New Market

Location:

Virginia Museum of the Civil War
8895 George Collins Parkway
New Market, VA 22844

   
Hours:

Saturday, May 17:  9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday, May 18: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM


24

Hanover County

Event: North Anna Battlefield Park Expansion and Sesquicentennial Ceremony

Location:

North Anna Battlefield Park
11576 Verdon Road
Doswell, VA 23047

   
Hours:

Saturday, May 24:  9:00 AM - 5:00 PM


31

Fairfax County

Event: 2014 Signature Conference, “The American Civil War in a Global Context”

Location:

George Mason University, Center for the Arts
4400 University Drive
Fairfax, VA 22030

   
Hours:

Saturday, May 31: Hours TBD

 

June 2014
7

Augusta County

Event: Grand Caverns Heritage Day

Location:

5 Grand Caverns Drive
Grottoes, VA 24441

   
Hours:

Saturday, June 7:  10:00 AM - 4:00 PM


14-17

City of Lynchburg

Event: 150th Anniversary of Hunter’s Raid

Location:

Historic Sandusky
757 Sandusky Drive
Lynchburg, VA 24501

   
Hours:

Saturday, June 14: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday, June 15: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday, June 16:  10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday, June 17: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM


21

Essex County

Event: Rivahfest!

Location:

323 Prince Street
Tappahannock, VA 22560

   
Hours:

Saturday, June 21:  10:00 AM - 4:00 PM


26-29

Marietta, Georgia

Event:

150th Anniversary of the Battle of Kennesaw Mountain


Location:

Southern Museum - Depot Square
2829 Cherokee Street
Kennesaw, GA 30144

Marietta City Square
Marietta, GA 30060

   
Hours:

Thursday, June 26: Noon - 7:00 PM (Kennesaw)
Friday, June 27: 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM (Marietta)
Saturday, June 28: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Marietta)
Sunday, June 29:  Noon - 7:00 PM (Marietta)

 

July 2014
4-5

Tazewell County

Event: Independence Day Celebration

Location:

Crab Orchard Museum
3663 Crab Orchard Road
Tazewell, VA 24651

   
Hours:

Friday, July 4: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday, July 5: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM


12

Frederick, Maryland

Event: Rose Hill Manor Civil War Encampment

Location:

Rose Hill Manor
1611 N. Market Street
Frederick, MD 21701

   
Hours:

Saturday, July 12:  10:00 AM - 4:00 PM


19-20

City of Winchester

Event: 150th Anniversary of the Second Battle of Kernstown

Location:

610 Battle Park Drive
Winchester, VA 22602

   
Hours:

Saturday, July 19:  9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday, July 20:  11:00 AM - 3:00 PM


26-29

Morgan County, West Virginia

Event:

Morgan County Fair


Location:

Berkeley Springs High School
149 Concord Avenue
Berkeley Springs, WV 25411

   
Hours:

Saturday, July 26: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday, July 27: Noon - 3:00 PM

 

August 2014
1-2

City of Petersburg

Event: 150th Anniversary of the Siege of Petersburg

Location:

Petersburg National Battlefield
5001 Siege Road
Petersburg, VA 23803

   
Hours:

Friday, August 1: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday, August 2: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM


8-10

Washington County

Event: Highlands Festival

Location:

Remsburg Drive
Abingdon, VA 24210

   
Hours:

Friday, August 8: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday, August 9:  10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday, August 10: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM


22-24

Prince William County

Event: Civil War Weekend

Location:

Old Town Manassas
9431 West Street
Manassas, VA 20110

   
Hours:

Friday, August 22:  4:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Saturday, August 23:  9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday, August 24:  9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

 

September 2014
5-6

Clarke County

Event: 150th Anniversary of the Battle of Berryville/Clarke County Civil War Weekend

Location:

627 Mosby Boulevard
Berryville, VA 22611

   
Hours:

Friday, Sept. 5:  Schools only
Saturday, Sept. 6:  9:00 AM - 4:00 PM


12-13

Rockbridge County

Event: Thunder in the Valley – Hunter’s Raid

Location:

Virginia Horse Center
487 Maury Road
Lexington, VA 24450

   
Hours:

Friday, Sept. 12:  10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday, Sept. 13:  10:00 AM - 5:00 PM


19-21

City of Winchester

Event: Apple Harvest Arts and Crafts Festival/150th Anniversary Third Battle of Winchester

Location:

Jim Barnett Park
1001 East Cork Street
Winchester, VA 22601

   
Hours:

Friday, September 19:  Schools only
Saturday, September 20:  10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday, September 21: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM


26-28

Henrico County

Event: 150th Anniversary of the Battle of New Market Heights

Location:

Runymede (near Malvern Hill Battlefield)
9175 Willis Church Road
Henrico, VA 23231

   
Hours:

Friday, Sept. 26: Schools only
Saturday, Sept. 27: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM          
Sunday, Sept. 28: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

 

October 2014
3-4

Page County

Event: Luray Caverns/Luray Valley Museum

Location:

101 Cave Hill Road
Luray, VA 22835

   
Hours:

Friday, Oct. 3:  10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday, Oct. 4:  10:00 AM - 5:00 PM


11-12

City of Chesapeake

Event: Waterways Heritage Festival

Location:

Battlefield Park
1775 Historic Way
Chesapeake, VA  23320

   
Hours:

Friday, Oct. 10:  Schools only
Saturday, Oct. 11:  10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday, Oct. 12: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

 

November 2014
6-8

Halifax County

Event: South Boston-Halifax County Museum

Location:

1540 Wilborn Avenue
South Boston, VA 24592

   
Hours:

Thursday, Nov. 6: Schools only
Friday, Nov. 7: Schools only
Saturday, Nov. 8: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM


13-15

City of Petersburg

Event: Friday for the Arts

Location:

Petersburg Public Library
201 W. Washington Street
Petersburg, VA 23803

   
Hours:

Thursday, Nov. 13: Schools only
Friday, Nov. 14: 1:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday, Nov. 15: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

 


To schedule a visit to your area, or for media requests and other information regarding the Civil War 150 HistoryMobile contact Noelle Baker, Senior Tour Manager, at (804) 545-5526, or Cheryl Jackson, Executive Director, at (804) 786-3591, ext. 276.

 

 

Virginia Sesquicentennial Commemoration of the American Civil War
© 2014 Commonwealth of VA    Contact / Email Newsletter
Media Center   Terms of Use
Privacy/Security Statement  Contact Webmaster
Commission logo trademarked, not to be used without authorization
Facebook